Lok Sabha elections 2019: First phase voting across India today


India will hold a general election starting on Thursday in the World’s largest democratic exercise. The election will be held in seven phases until May19 and votes will be counted on May 23. Ninety-one constituencies across 20 states will poll in the first phase of the Lok Sabha election. Here are some of the highlights of the first phase:

142 million: Size of the electorate, which includes 7,764 third-gender voters

1,279: Number of candidates in the fray

7%: Share of women candidates

170,664 polling booths

  • All the seats in Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Arunachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Sikkim will go to the polls
  • This is Telangana’s first Lok Sabha election after it was carved out of Andhra Pradesh
  • In addition, simultaneous polling will be held in single-phase Assembly in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim

Archis Mohan




Categories: News

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: