BJP’s Pramod Sawant, Ayurvedic Doctor Sworn-In As New Goa CM


BJP MLA Pramod Sawant was sworn-in as the new Chief Minister of Goa late last night. He succeeds Manohar Parrikar, who passed away on Sunday following a prolonged illness.

Goa Governor Mridula Sinha administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 46-year-old Sawant. He represents Sankhalim constituency in Goa Assembly. 

The Governor also administered the oath to 11 other ministers, including those from BJP’s allies Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and the Goa Forward Party (GFP). 

All the ministers who were part of erstwhile Manohar Parrikar-led Cabinet were sworn in by the Governor. MGP’s two MLAs Sudin Dhavalikar and Manohar Ajgaonkar were sworn-in, while GFP MLAs Vijai Sardesai, Vinod Palekar and Jayesh Salgaonkar also took the oath. 

BJP MLAs Mauvin Godinho, Vishwajit Rane, Milind Naik and Nilesh Cabral also found a place in the Sawant-led Cabinet. Independent MLAs Rohan Khaunte and Govind Gawade were also sworn in by Governor.

Before taking oath as the CM, Mr Sawant resigned from the post of Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly. Talking to reporters, Mr Sawant said his party BJP has given him a big responsibility. He also credited Parrikar for bringing him into politics.

Prime minister Narendra Modi has extended his best wishes to the new Chief Minister of GoaPramod Sawant and his team. In a tweet, Mr Modi expressed confidence that they will build on the work done in the last few years and boost Goa’s growth trajectory.

Categories: News

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: