Four prominent Leaders Of Indian Politics Will Not Be In The Election Arena During The Lok Sabha polls


Source: DBPOST

New Delhi: Some prominent leaders of the Indian politics will not be in the election arena this time during the forthcoming Lok Sabha polls.

Among them are NCP chief Sharad Pawar, Ramvilas Paswan, Sushma Swaraj and Uma Bharti. There is suspense on whether LK Advani and Murali Manohar Joshi will contest or not. The four leaders who will not contest are:

Sharad Pawar

Among the big leaders who will not contest is Sharad Pawar. He won the first assembly election of Maharashtra in 1967. He thrice became the chief minister of Maharashtra. He has held important portfolios like Defence and Agriculture in the Centre.

He has contested Lok Sabha election 14 times. He separated from Congress in 1999 and formed the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).

Sharad Pawar said he was not contesting as two members of his family Supriya Sule and Parth were contesting. He said he wants the young generation to contest.

Sushma Swaraj

Sushma Swaraj has decided not to contest on account of health reasons. She became minister of Haryana government at the age of 25, thus setting the record of becoming youngest minister of any state.

Ramvilas Paswan

Ramvilas Paswan first became a minister in 1969. He is the founder of Lok Janshakti Party (LJP). He is active in the politics for the last 50 years.
In January this year that he would not contest. However, he did not give any reasons for the same.

Uma Bharti

Uma Bharti was elected Lok Sabha member from Khajuraho in 1989. She was a cabinet minister in Atal and Modi governments. In 2014, she became Lok Sabha member from Jhansi.

Bharti was among the leaders in the controversial Ram Janmabhoomi movement of the 1980s and 1990s, organised by the BJP and the Vishva Hindu Parishad. She was present at the demolition of the Babri Masjid and was later indicted by the Liberhan Commission for her role in the incident.

In the 2003 State Assembly polls, she led the BJP to a sweeping win in the Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly. She resigned from the post of Chief Minister in August 2004, when an arrest warrant was issued against her regarding the 1994 Hubli riot case.

After a falling-out with the BJP, she established her own political party for a while before returning to the fold.

Uma Bharti has said now she would work only for Lord Ram and Ganga and not contest.

Categories: Politics

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: